Platinum GC Review

I have calmed down slightly but want to make sure that there is no one else is taken advantage of like I have been since November. There is a guy named “Heath” Martinez (Anthony Heath Martinez) with Platinum GC or Platinum General Contractors/Contracting and he is a horrible contractor. We hired him in November 2013. We chose him as there were multiple trades and facets to an insurance claim from the storms in August of 2013. I did not want to take on the management of multiple trades as I have my own business and am busy enough. We were not smart enough to verify GL insurance upon the start of the project, but when we noticed that the insurance certificate expired Dec. 22 2013, my wife called in January to see if the policy had been renewed. During this call the insurance broker told my wife that the policy had not been renewed, but if the project had started during the valid dates it would be covered. | As the progress deteriorated we again checked a few weeks ago and were told a different story. The broker told my wife that it appeared that he had taken out the policy in Dec 2012 and only paid the first installment and that the carrier cancelled the policy in February 2013 due to non-payment. The broker gave us 2 reasons why this information did not come up when we called in January 2014 to confirm the policy. #1. The carrier didn’t update the broker of non-payment and cancellation or #2. The broker didn’t update their computer records when they received the update from the carrier. I called back to get clarification and they will now not confirm or deny in writing or verbally that the coverage was good or not good for the time frame I am requesting unless my attorney writes a letter requesting the information. | Long story as short as I can, Here we go: | The project has been going on since November of 2013 and the deadline for him to contact my attorney was 5/8/2014 with an answer on 5/10/2014. He has our insurance money and left us with a shoddy roof decking replacement and tiger paw felt only. I called for inspection on the decking last week and the inspector noted it can’t be inspected with felt on the decking and looked in the attic and explained that it was very bad workmanship and would not pass and might have to replace the new or at least remove all of the decking and reset it properly and fix valleys and hips. We have not had shingles on our roof since March 2014. He eventually erected the fence and retaining wall which is decent in its overall appearance, but still has issues (all gate hardware is not completed and the retaining wall still has imperfections that were not corrected). He never installed the retractable gate with motor that was agreed to in our contract. He never installed the gutters obviously as they will go on after the roof. He contacted and hired a sheet rock sub and then when it came time to pay him, decided it was too high and basically told the guy to sue him and he wouldn’t see a dime. No one with Platinum was present during the 3 days after the project began to manage them or do the math that it was over budget. This sheet rock sub is now pursuing a theft of services charge against Heath and using his option to lean my property for sheet rock repair. Platinum almost reached this point with another sub for the irrigation changes made in the back yard for the sprinklers. I had to get involved and make sure a resolution was reached as he physically threatened the guy over text message. I have yet to get any of the electrical conduit replaced on the fence or any of the lighting that was to be installed as I previously had lighting along the fence. There is now sheet rock damage throughout my house as I have not had shingles in over 2 months and the Garland area received several rain storms during this time period. | He has been paid over $57,000 to date for a concrete retaining wall, sprinkler modification, 8′ BOB fence partially completed, fascia replacement twice with an extremely poor roof decking replacement with felt. He didn’t take his time analyzing the fascia job and installed it the first time and didn’t wait for the decking to be approved and lost the height of the wooden slats under the original decking for the old wooden shingles and therefore was paid by insurance twice to install fascia. | Here is the golden moment: | Another customer, he gave my address to in March for a reference on a fence, showed up at my door and said Platinum was supposed to show up on the 28th after the customer gave him a check on the 17th as a deposit for the project he hired Platinum for. Platinum didn’t show up when scheduled and it gave the customer concern, so he decided to come to my house. I explained what was happening to us and we decided to call the police while he was at my house. The customer called Platinum and left a message that he would be going in a different direction and would like his $5,000 back he had given him. Heath had the audacity to show up at his house without acknowledging the call and began trying to take his fence apart and remove it. Plenty of time has passed and the other home owner has yet to receive his $5K back. | My attorney wrote and supplied a settlement letter to Platinum GC “Heath Martinez” on Tuesday 5/6/2014 for him to come finish the project and “dry the roof in” immediately. Heath/Platinum didn’t respond to any communication with my attorney until 4 days later. He still has not come to my house to temporary and “dry in” the roof on my house. | Here is the weird part. | When my wife went to the bank to deposit the first check she was told that Heath was not on the Platinum bank account. My wife was told by the bank teller that Chris Martinez, Heath’s nephew, is actually the person who has the bank account associated with Platinum. Heath’s wife or girlfriend, I’m not sure which, but do know they just had a baby together, also was involved by picking up checks and signing the permit for the decking inspection. This permit was only pulled after Platinum was busted for not pulling one by an inspector across the street during another inspection. They never pulled a permit for the fence changes that we were doing and told me multiple times that they were not required. I have been told by the City of Garland that they are required, since changes were made to the existing fence line. | I just want to share with everyone and hopefully if you see anything from this guy move forward with EXTREME CAUTION.. | If you see the number (214) 536-7098, watch out. Platinum’s main form of marketing is the Val-pack mail outs. | Please pray for me and the family as it has been hard to be scammed for so much money and figure out how to pay for the repairs before my home becomes a major issue and liability. | Update:It is apparent this guy and team are still operating in DFW. Please beware of who you hire.

—–

  • Name: Platinum GC
  • Country: United States
  • State: Texas
  • City: Rowlett
  • Address: 4218 starboard Trail
  • Phone: 972-536-7098
  • Website:
Share Review:
Yes it is. Based on the user review published on MeraReview.com, it is strongly advised to avoid Platinum GC Review in any dealing and transaction.
Not really. In spite of the review published here, there has been no response from Platinum GC Review. Lack of accountability is a major factor in determining trust.
Because unlike MeraReview.com, other websites get paid to remove negative reviews and replace them with fake positive ones.
Platinum GC Review is rated 1 out of 5 based on the complaints submitted by our users and is marked as POOR.
Never trust websites which offer a shady ‘advocacy package’ to businesses. Search for relevant reviews on Ripoff Report and Pissed Consumer to see more unbiased reviews.
The above complaints and comments against Platinum GC Review were submitted by MeraReview.com user(s) and have been published as-is. MeraReview.com does not edit, alter or remove content published by it’s users. There’s no amount of money a business can pay to manipulate their reviews and MeraReview.com will NOT entertain any request to remove the review on Platinum GC Review at any cost whatsoever.
>